My top 3 Dubrovnik restaurants!

My review of some of the best restaurants we visited in Dubrovnik.

This blog post is very out of place from my usual book posts but I thought I would share some of my favourite restaurants from my holiday with my boyfriend Jack to Croatia in May this year.

I also thought it was a good way to share some more personal information with the people that follow my blog, as I’m always reviewing books I don’t really say much about myself so I thought this would be a good opportunity and it helps me keep the blog updated while I’m working my way through my latest read: The Distant Hours by Kate Morton.

So here are some of my thoughts on the restaurants in Dubrovnik, you might find it handy if you are thinking of going!

Dubrovnik has so much choice in terms of restaurants it was hard to choose! I booked two places before we went out there. One of which was Above 5.

Above 5

Above 5 views
View from our table at Above 5

As you can see this restaurant is situated above the city so you get lovely views of the rooftops, I booked this one before we went as it only seats about 20 people it’s really small and intimate. The food was exceptional too and this was one of my the best restaurants I’ve ever visited. We were lucky when we went as we were the only ones there for the majority of our meal.

Seabass at Above 5
Seabass dish at Above 5. Jack had this and I had such bad food envy!

Victoria

Another restaurant we visited was Victoria restaurant. We were staying at the Grand Villa Argentina which is part of a group of hotels, Victoria was the in-house restaurant at the hotel next door so we were able to make our reservation at the front desk of our hotel as they belong to the same group.

Unfortunately when we visited in May it was a bit drizzly so we were sat inside, but again this was another restaurant I would recommend. The menu was a bit obscure and different to what I am used to mainly because they serve fusion food. I had a risotto to start and then for my main course I had tuna and veal, which I wouldn’t have said would go well together but it worked really nicely! And in Croatia we found that all the fish we ate was incredibly fresh which made it even better.

Tuna dish at Victoria restaurant Dubrovnik
My tuna & veal dish at Victoria Restaurant

Restaurant 360

The other restaurant I booked before we left was Restaurant 360, it is Al-fresco dining around the old city walls next to the harbor so had phenomenal views! We went here on our last night and it was a really special meal, the service, location and food was all brilliant and I would really recommend anyone visiting Dubrovnik to go here.

Views from 360 Dubrovnik
View from our table at Restaurant 360

Another selling point of this restaurant is that they serve Orange wine. It is the opposite to Rose and made from the same grapes which make red wine, only it is not left for as long in their skins giving the wine a unique orange colour. They have lots of options to choose from but we asked for recommendation from the waiter who suggested one of the Croatian orange wines. It was a bit of an unusual taste, a bit like a very weak red wine. I’m not really a red wine fan but I didn’t mind the orange wine and glad I got to try it as nowhere else we visited in Croatia served it.

Orange wine at 360
Croatian Orange Wine

As I said there is so much choice in Dubrovnik these are just my pick of my favourites that we visited. Croatia is such a beautiful country and the food is definitely some of the nicest I have tasted, I hope to visit again one day.

What holidays do you have planned this year? And where is the best place you have ever eaten? As always, let me know in the comments I love hearing your thoughts!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Leave a Reply

